AI Observatory
Initiative or IncentiveOngoingNot legally binding
As of October 15, 2026

IndiaAI Compute Capacity: empanelled GPU clouds and the IndiaAI Compute Portal

The IndiaAI Mission pillar that empanels private GPU clouds and offers subsidised compute to startups, researchers and government bodies

India (Union) Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), through IndiaAI and C-DAC December 2, 2024 7 min read
Contents
  1. Key elements
  2. Background
  3. Empanelment rounds and capacity
  4. How access works: the compute portal
  5. Compute for sovereign models
  6. Criticism
  7. Current status
  8. Timeline
  9. Sources

The compute pillar of the IndiaAI Mission is the largest, at Rs 4,563.36 crore of the Rs 10,371.92 crore outlay. Instead of building its own data centres, MeitY empanels private AI service providers through requests for empanelment, and approved users draw subsidised GPU time through the IndiaAI Compute Portal, launched on 6 March 2025. Planned capacity grew from 10,000 GPUs to 18,693 and then to more than 38,000 by August 2025; the government reported 14 empanelled providers in February 2026 and issued a new call for up to 10,000 AI compute units in October 2026. Critics have questioned the pillar's size, the speed of approvals and its utilisation.

Ongoing. More than 38,000 GPUs onboarded; new C-DAC empanelment call issued October 2026

Legal effect: this initiative or incentive is not legally binding by itself. It may describe or request action; obligations arise only where a statute, rule or court order says so.

Key elements

  1. The compute pillar buys services, not hardware: MeitY empanels private cloud providers, and users pay providers directly after IndiaAI applies a subsidy.
  2. Planned capacity moved from 10,000 to 18,693 and then to more than 38,000 GPUs within about a year, reported at about Rs 100 per GPU hour after a 40% subsidy.
  3. Access goes through the IndiaAI Compute Portal and an End User Policy: researchers, startups, MSMEs, students and government entities must meet eligibility tests, and requests are approved monthly.
  4. As of February 2026 the portal's users numbered about 300 across seven categories, including 114 academic researchers, 47 startups and MSMEs and 58 government entities.
  5. Compute subsidies fund the sovereign foundation-model programme: Sarvam AI received 4,096 Nvidia H100 GPUs for six months, with a subsidy of Rs 98.68 crore, and BharatGen Rs 990.92 crore of compute support.
  6. Providers must deliver services from Indian data centres, and the October 2026 call requires data, logs, backups and disaster recovery to stay in India.
  7. Critics argued the pillar is oversized relative to datasets, that subsidy criteria and slow approvals could leave capacity under-used, and that utilisation data is not public.

Background

NITI Aayog's 2018 national AI strategy proposed AIRAWAT, a pooled AI cloud of about 100 petaflops linking research centres. When the Union Cabinet approved the IndiaAI Mission in March 2024 it included a compute pillar, which the government's February 2026 reply shows to carry Rs 4,563.36 crore, about 44% of the outlay.1 The pillar aims to provide high-end compute (GPUs) to all, including MSMEs and startups, "at an affordable cost". MediaNama reported in early 2025 that AIRAWAT, the government's earlier AI platform, had suffered a three-month downtime that disrupted GPU and storage access for startups.18

The design avoids a government-owned data centre. MeitY empanels private AI service providers through requests for empanelment, and the Mission subsidises approved users' consumption. By February 2026 the Rajya Sabha was told that "National AI compute capacity is operationalized through empaneled AI service providers offering GPU access on cloud at subsidized rates", all of them MeitY-empanelled cloud service providers.1

Empanelment rounds and capacity

First round (2024-25). MeitY issued a request for empanelment for AI compute and cloud services in August 2024 and held a pre-bid meeting with about 50 entities. Bidding opened on 2 December 2024 and drew 19 bidders, among them Jio Platforms, Tata Communications and Yotta Data Services.6 The original conditions required an Indian legal entity with average annual turnover above Rs 100 crore (Rs 50 crore for main consortium members), at least 1,000 AI compute units on a cloud platform with a self-service portal, and services delivered from Indian data centres. After feedback that the conditions excluded startups, an October 2024 amendment reduced the turnover thresholds to Rs 50 crore for primary bidders and Rs 25 crore for other consortium members and lowered the minimum performance thresholds for compute units.7 Selected providers are empanelled for 36 months, extendable by 12.6

Capacity announcements. The Mission's initial target was 10,000 GPUs. In late January 2025 Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw said a further 8,693 GPUs would be added, taking planned capacity to 18,693. The reported average winning bid was Rs 115.85 per GPU hour; a 40% government subsidy was meant to bring costs to about Rs 100 per hour, against a global range of USD 2.5 to 3. Bidders included Jio, E2E, NxtGen, Locuz and CtrlS.8 MediaNama reported in May 2025 that bids for a second round proposed 18,000 GPUs, of which about 15,000 were expected to be offered after technical qualification, and that seven companies had been shortlisted: Netmagic IT Services, Vensysco Technologies, Cyfuture India, Yotta Data Services, Locuz Enterprise Solutions, Ishan Infotech and Sify Digital Services.5

By 31 August 2025 the governance guidelines counted more than 38,231 GPUs "made available to startups, researchers and developers at subsidised rates", and said a secure cluster for 3,000 next-generation GPUs was being built for sovereign and strategic uses.11 At the India AI Impact Summit in February 2026 the government said it planned to add more than 20,000 GPUs to the existing base of 38,000.10 In its February 2026 Rajya Sabha reply MeitY reported 14 empanelled AI service providers, with data centres in Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Noida and Jamnagar.1

How access works: the compute portal

The IndiaAI Compute Portal was launched by Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw on 6 March 2025, the Mission's first anniversary, offering AI compute, network, storage and platform services at discounted rates, with up to a 40% subsidy on cloud AI compute.9 The portal describes the process as follows:3

  • Users log in with DigiLocker, e-Pramaan or Jan Parichay, register, and wait for verification.
  • They submit a compute request with a draft bill based on the providers' rate list and a subsidy request, between the 1st and the 25th of the month.
  • Requests of under 5,000 GPU hours are auto-approved; larger requests go to a committee (PMEC). The approved list is published on the 10th of the next month, and approvals are valid for 30 days.
  • IndiaAI pays the subsidy and users pay the remainder to the provider.

Eligibility differs by category. Researchers and academics need an h-index of 5 or more, journal publications with an impact factor above 2.5, or 150 or more citations. Startups and MSMEs need DPIIT recognition, AI or ML experience and either annual revenue of Rs 50 lakh or funding of Rs 100 lakh. Early-stage startups need four years of AI or ML experience and a letter from the IndiaAI CEO or a senior official, and government entities need a letter from an authorised officer.3 The portal lists empanelled providers including CMS, CtrlS, Cyfuture, E2E Cloud, Ishan, JPL, Locuz, NxtGen, NTT, Neysa, Orient, Sify, Tata Communications, Vensysco and Yotta.3 IndiaAI has also notified an End User Policy governing GPU access and subsidy allocation.1

A Rajya Sabha question in February 2026 referred to subsidised GPU access at a rate of "65 per hour" (the currency symbol is missing in the published text). The Minister's written answer did not state a rate, and it reported users rather than utilisation: 114 academic researchers, 47 startups and MSMEs, 36 early-stage startups, 10 early-stage researchers, 32 students, 8 IndiaAI Fellows and 58 government entities.1

Compute for sovereign models

The compute pillar underwrites the Mission's foundation-model programme. In March 2026 the government told the Lok Sabha that funding for the twelve selected organisations is "provided in calibrated manner to cover compute usage costs". The annexure shows compute support of Rs 246.72 crore for Sarvam AI, Rs 177.27 crore for Gnani, Rs 88.02 crore for Gan AI, Rs 162.47 crore for Soket AI, Rs 12.88 crore for Avataar AI, Rs 990.92 crore for BharatGen, Rs 137.91 crore for Fractal, Rs 2.66 crore for Tech Mahindra, Rs 165.19 crore for Zenteiq, Rs 2.09 crore for Genloop, Rs 41.50 crore for Intellihealth and Rs 7.52 crore for Shodh AI.2

MediaNama reported in June 2026 that Sarvam received 4,096 Nvidia H100 GPUs for six months and the Mission's largest compute subsidy, Rs 98.68 crore on a compute bill of about Rs 246.7 crore (roughly 40%), and that the government might obtain a 1-2% minority stake through compulsorily convertible debentures issued in return for compute support.12 The governance guidelines also cite access to compute as a requirement for safety evaluations, so that developers can "test and validate the effectiveness of guardrails" at population scale.11

Criticism

Size of the pillar. At a December 2024 roundtable some participants questioned whether 44% of the Mission's outlay should go to compute rather than datasets, skilling or research, while others argued that inference demand would grow and that 44% could be a floor.8 MediaNama noted that a breakdown of the pillar's sub-projects was not public.8

Under-use. MediaNama reported in May 2025 that the Takshashila Institution had warned that capacity risked being under-used because few projects would qualify for subsidies and because of slow bureaucratic processes.5

Eligibility for suppliers. The first tender's turnover and capacity conditions drew industry feedback that they were too high for startups and smaller companies, and were relaxed in October 2024; all empanelled providers are MeitY-empanelled cloud service providers.17

Opacity. The published data are counts of users and GPUs. Utilisation rates, per-provider capacity and the average subsidy per user have not been disclosed in the documents reviewed.1

Current status

As of 15 October 2026 the pillar is ongoing. On or around 7 October 2026 C-DAC, under MeitY, issued a request for empanelment inviting AI service providers to supply up to 10,000 AI Compute Units, a term covering GPUs, TPUs and other accelerators, which C-DAC may scale beyond 10,000 during the empanelment's validity. Clusters would be of 4,000, 1,000 or 512 units, each cluster needing at least 512 units at a single data centre in India, and bidders must keep all infrastructure, data, logs, backups and disaster recovery in India and isolate C-DAC's data from other customers.4 On 8 October Vaishnaw described a 'first tender' of 5,000 of the 10,000-GPU estimate and said the government would use an 'empowerment approach' instead of traditional tenders. MediaNama's report did not give prices or a submission deadline, and the call did not specify how many units would be procured in the first round.4

Timeline

  1. Mar 7, 2024

    IndiaAI Mission approved

    The Cabinet approves the Mission, which includes a compute pillar later shown to carry Rs 4,563.36 crore.

  2. Aug 2024

    Request for empanelment issued

    MeitY invites AI compute and cloud service providers; about 50 entities attend the pre-bid meeting.

  3. Oct 2024

    Eligibility relaxed

    Turnover thresholds are reported cut to Rs 50 crore (primary bidders) and Rs 25 crore (other consortium members) after startup feedback.

  4. Dec 2, 2024

    Bidding opens

    Nineteen bidders, including Jio Platforms, Tata Communications and Yotta, submit proposals.

  5. Jan 30, 2025

    Capacity raised to 18,693 GPUs

    Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw announces 8,693 more GPUs on top of the initial 10,000, at about Rs 100 per hour after subsidy.

  6. Mar 6, 2025

    IndiaAI Compute Portal launched

    Subsidised GPU access opens to startups, researchers, students and government bodies.

  7. May 14, 2025

    Second-round bids reported

    Bids for about 18,000 GPUs are under evaluation and seven companies are shortlisted.

  8. Aug 31, 2025

    38,231 GPUs available

    The governance guidelines report the figure and a planned secure cluster of 3,000 next-generation GPUs.

  9. Feb 13, 2026

    Parliamentary reply

    14 empanelled providers and a list of user categories are reported to the Rajya Sabha.

  10. Feb 16, 2026

    Summit announcement

    The government says it plans to add more than 20,000 GPUs to the 38,000 already onboarded.

  11. Oct 7, 2026

    New empanelment call

    C-DAC invites providers to supply up to 10,000 AI Compute Units.

Sources

  1. [1]
    Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1668: Progress of IndiaAI Mission (answered 13 February 2026)
    PrimaryMinistry of Electronics and Information Technology, via MediaNamaFebruary 13, 2026medianama.com
  2. [2]
    Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 5417: Small Language Models, with Annexure I (answered 25 March 2026)
    PrimaryMinistry of Electronics and Information Technology, via MediaNamaMarch 25, 2026medianama.com
  3. [3]
    IndiaAI Compute Portal
    PrimaryIndiaAI, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technologycompute.indiaai.gov.in
  4. [4]
  5. [5]
  6. [6]
    19 Bidders, Including Jio and Tata, Seek to Supply GPUs for IndiaAI Mission
    SecondaryMediaNamaDecember 4, 2024medianama.com
  7. [7]
    IndiaAI Mission To Open GPU Procurement For Small Companies
    SecondaryMediaNamaOctober 18, 2024medianama.com
  8. [8]
    IndiaAI Mission Allocation Reduced by 69% in Revised 2024-25 Estimates
    SecondaryMediaNamaFebruary 3, 2025medianama.com
  9. [9]
    MeitY Launches New AI-Driven Initiatives Under IndiaAI Mission
    SecondaryMediaNamaMarch 7, 2025medianama.com
  10. [10]
    India AI Impact Summit 2026
    SecondaryWikipediaen.wikipedia.org
  11. [11]
    India AI Governance Guidelines: Enabling Safe and Trusted AI Innovation
    PrimaryMinistry of Electronics and Information Technology, via PIBNovember 2025static.pib.gov.in
  12. [12]
Report an error Revision history
Cite this entry

Pacta AI Observatory, “IndiaAI Compute Capacity: empanelled GPU clouds and the IndiaAI Compute Portal,” last updated October 15, 2026, https://aiobservatory.pacta.in/wiki/indiaai-compute-capacity.

Facts verified October 15, 2026 · Last edited Oct 15, 2026 · 12:36 Not legal advice. Check the primary sources before relying on this summary.